Australian ecoregions

Australia has 40 major ecoregions recognised by WWF, each with its own unique flora and fauna, ranging from tropical rainforests to arid deserts. The largest Australian ecoregion is the Great Sandy-Tanami desert in the country’s northern central regions, while the smallest are unique assemblages of ecosystems and species found in Western Australia’s Jarrah-Karri forest and shrublands, Hampton mallee and woodlands and the Australian Alps montane grasslands. 

Dr Mark Nadir Runkovski, 2010

Click on the map below to explore Australian ecoregions

Sources: Esri, DeLorme, NAVTEQ, TomTom, Intermap, increment P Corp, GEBCO, USGS, FAO, NPS, NRCAN, GeoBase, Kadaster NL, Ordnance Survey, Esri Japan, METI, and the GIS user community

Start your ecoregion adventure now!

Spotlight on...

Biodiversity is fundamental to a healthy planet and thriving communities, but the world's species are under tremendous threat.